Will user-attachments/assets get deleted if a user, repo, etc. gets deleted? #153721
Replies: 6 comments 9 replies
|
Hey @lwcorp 👋 |
|
Yes. User attachments and uploaded assets are deleted when the user or repo they belong to is deleted. |
|
Hey @lwcorp! Thanks so much for reaching out in the Community! Attachments uploaded to GitHub issues, pull requests, or comments are hosted at anonymized URLs and are publicly accessible. However, GitHub currently does not provide a direct way for users to delete these attachments themselves once uploaded. To request the permanent deletion of an attachment, you will need to contact GitHub Support directly. You can do this by submitting a support ticket through the GitHub Support contact form. In your request, include the following details:
Note that, for privacy and security reasons, only uploader of the attachment can authorize the deletion of the attachment. Let me know if you need further clarification or assistance! |
|
This is a good question, and I don't think the current documentation clearly answers it. I wouldn't assume that the attachment is deleted just because the URL contains Since the documentation on account deletion doesn't explicitly address user attachments, the safest answer would be to ask GitHub Support for clarification or request that the documentation be updated to specify what happens to existing attachments when their uploader's account is permanently deleted. It would also be useful to know whether attachments referenced from issues, PRs, or discussions are treated differently from unattached files. |
|
💬 Your Product Feedback Has Been Submitted 🎉 Thank you for taking the time to share your insights with us! Your feedback is invaluable as we build a better GitHub experience for all our users. Here's what you can expect moving forward ⏩
Where to look to see what's shipping 👀
What you can do in the meantime 💻
As a member of the GitHub community, your participation is essential. While we can't promise that every suggestion will be implemented, we want to emphasize that your feedback is instrumental in guiding our decisions and priorities. Thank you once again for your contribution to making GitHub even better! We're grateful for your ongoing support and collaboration in shaping the future of our platform. ⭐ |

Uh oh!
There was an error while loading. Please reload this page.
Uh oh!
There was an error while loading. Please reload this page.
Select Topic Area
Question
Body
When you upload an attachment (like an image), the resulting URL structure looks like
https://github.com/user-attachments/assets/unique_id, which suggests the attachment is associated with a GitHub user account, not a specific repository, issue, pull request, etc. But if so, what happens if that user gets completely deleted? Do the attachments still remain in that case?The Attaching files' doc doesn't mention the possibility of attachments ever getting lost. Then again it links to an outdated doc about the structure of anonymized URLs.

Meanwhile, the User deletion's doc mentions nothing about attachments.
Other related sources: [1], [2].
Proof of concept - here's a screenshot created from a now deleted username! But I still like to know officially - will it be eventually deleted?
All reactions